Everything started in December 1950, with the Edwards DEMING prize. Edwards Deming, a statistician and mathematician and a professor at Stanford University, had spent time in Japan to help rebuilding the country after WW2. Therefore, at first, the prize aimed to reward a Japanese company every year for its exceptional progress in the Quality of its Management. After some time, a second prize emerged, taking the form of an individual reward.

The following companies have won the Deming prize:
The following people have won the Deming prize:
1952 Kaoru ISHIKAWA
1997 Noriaki KANO


In response to the DEMING prize, 14 European CEOs also decided to launch a European prize: the EFQM prize.

The EFQM model regroups the best methods and practices established by world leaders. Its core principle is causation, the relationship in between cause and effect. Therefore, EFQM gives us the means to challenge even the best organizations.


  1. Your Leadership
  2. Your Strategy
  3. Organization of your Personnel
  4. Organization of your Partners & Resources
  5. Organization of your Product Process & Services


  1. Results for Personnel
  2. Results for customers
  3. Results for society
  4. Results for your business

The EFQM model’s evaluation is under the form of a Radar, with grades for each of the 5 Causes and for each of the 4 Effects. The overall grade is given on a scale of 1 to 1000.

This grade allows building a benchmark and acts as a performance index, which indexes our competitiveness. The benchmark system has different honorary levels, for which stars and distinctions are attributed.

For instance, with:
400 pts, we are attributed 4 stars and are «Recognized for Excellence 4 stars»,
500 pts we are attributes 5 stars and are «Recognized for Excellence 5 stars».
Over 500 pts, we compete for the “ EFQM Award”.

Practice : Football